All posts by James Gomes

An Interdisciplinary Population Health Approach to the Radon Health Risk Management in Canada

Authors: Selim M. Khan, James Gomes

Abstract

Radon is a known carcinogen found in indoor air that exists at higher than the federal reference level (200 Bq/m3) in about 10% of Canadian homes. Every year, over 3,000 people die from radon-induced lung cancer, which accounts for 16% of annual lung cancer deaths in Canada. Radon is the leading cause of lung cancer deaths among non-smokers and is second among smokers. Children, women, and smokers from lower income groups are disproportionately affected. Although the Federal Government has reset the guideline (from the previous 600 Bq/m3 down to 200 Bq/m3) and provincial governments revised the building codes to limit exposure, there remain controversies with the latest scientific development in adopting strategies of radon management in Canada.

This review applies an Integrated Population Health Framework to look at the relationships and interactions between population health determinants such as biology and genetics, environment and occupation, and social and economic factors, that influence the health risk of radon. The evidence gathered supports policy analysis with the application of ethical and risk management principles that lead to the identification of efficient and affordable broad-based and population-level preventive strategies. The final inferences enhance the framework by adding critical intervention modalities to Health Canada’s National Radon Program.

Continue reading An Interdisciplinary Population Health Approach to the Radon Health Risk Management in Canada

The Risk of Prostate Cancer from Occupational Exposures in Male Firefighters

Author: Zing-Wae WONG & James GOMES

Abstract

Prostate cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer among men. Since prostate cancer is a slow developing cancer, mortality can be prevented if the tumour is detected and treated in its early stages. There is proof that environmental exposures can increase the risk of prostate cancer. Many papers have performed data analyses on prostate cancer levels in firefighters. There has been some research on firefighter prostate cancer levels but few reviews on the topic. This paper focuses on finding whether there is a correlation between firefighting occupation and levels of prostate cancer. As well, this paper notes potential carcinogens within the firefighting occupation. Five papers were included in this review; these papers used different methods to obtain the cases and cohorts for the study. The papers also used different controls for comparison. Nevertheless, the papers found in the search supported a positive correlation between exposures in firefighting occupations and the level of prostate cancer. The two chemicals that were suspected carcinogens in these studies were Polyaromatic hydrocarbons (PAH) and fire smoke. However, future research can be more rigorous in calculations of prostate cancer levels by including lifestyle factors, other confounders such as smoking, and estimated length of exposure.

Continue reading The Risk of Prostate Cancer from Occupational Exposures in Male Firefighters

Les risques associés à l’utilisation inappropriée des stéroïdes anabolisants

Authors: Marie-Claudel BORGEAT & James GOMES
Article in French only.

Résumé

Notre société accorde une grande importance à la beauté et à la performance physique. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’une fraction non négligeable de gens aient recours à des méthodes draconiennes pour atteindre ces objectifs, ou s’en rapprocher. Une des méthodes les plus populaires est l’utilisation abusive de stéroïdes anabolisants. Plusieurs études ont évalué les effets indésirables et néfastes de ces composés à des doses “supra-physiologiques”. Nous présentons donc ici une révision et une synthèse de ces effets afin de mieux comprendre la nocivité de ces stéroïdes anabolisants quand ils sont mal utilisés.

Continue reading Les risques associés à l’utilisation inappropriée des stéroïdes anabolisants

All posts by James Gomes

An Interdisciplinary Population Health Approach to the Radon Health Risk Management in Canada

Authors: Selim M. Khan, James Gomes

Abstract

Radon is a known carcinogen found in indoor air that exists at higher than the federal reference level (200 Bq/m3) in about 10% of Canadian homes. Every year, over 3,000 people die from radon-induced lung cancer, which accounts for 16% of annual lung cancer deaths in Canada. Radon is the leading cause of lung cancer deaths among non-smokers and is second among smokers. Children, women, and smokers from lower income groups are disproportionately affected. Although the Federal Government has reset the guideline (from the previous 600 Bq/m3 down to 200 Bq/m3) and provincial governments revised the building codes to limit exposure, there remain controversies with the latest scientific development in adopting strategies of radon management in Canada.

This review applies an Integrated Population Health Framework to look at the relationships and interactions between population health determinants such as biology and genetics, environment and occupation, and social and economic factors, that influence the health risk of radon. The evidence gathered supports policy analysis with the application of ethical and risk management principles that lead to the identification of efficient and affordable broad-based and population-level preventive strategies. The final inferences enhance the framework by adding critical intervention modalities to Health Canada’s National Radon Program.

Continue reading An Interdisciplinary Population Health Approach to the Radon Health Risk Management in Canada

Une approche interdisciplinaire axée sur la santé de la population pour analyser la gestion des risques du radon pour la santé au Canada

Auteurs: Selim M. Khan, James Gomes

(L’article est disponible en anglais seulement)

Résumé

Le radon est un cancérigène qui se retrouve dans l’air intérieur et qui existe en quantités supérieures au niveau de référence du gouvernement fédéral (200 Bq/m3) dans environ dix pour cent des foyers canadiens. Le cancer du poumon provoqué par le radon tue plus de 3 000 personnes chaque année, ce qui représente 16 pour cent des décès annuels causés par le cancer du poumon au Canada. Le radon est la cause principale des décès attribués au cancer du poumon chez les non-fumeurs et la deuxième chez les fumeurs. Les enfants, les femmes et les fumeurs issus de groupes à faible revenu sont touchés de façon disproportionnée. Bien que le gouvernement fédéral ait réajusté le niveau de référence de 600 Bq/m3 à 200 Bq/m3 et que le gouvernement provincial ait révisé les codes de construction pour limiter l’exposition,  les dernières avancées scientifiques pour adopter des stratégies de gestion du radon au Canada demeurent controversées

Cette analyse se sert d’une approche intégrée axée sur la santé de la population pour examiner les relations et les interactions entre les déterminants de la santé de la population, tels que la biologie, la génétique, l’environnement, la profession, et les facteurs socioéconomiques qui influencent le risque du radon pour la santé. Les données recueillies et les politiques analysées en appliquant les principes éthiques et les principes de la gestion des risques ont mené à l’identification de stratégies de prévention efficaces, abordables à grande échelle et au niveau de la population. Les conclusions servent à améliorer la santé de la population en proposant des modalités d’intervention cruciales pour le Programme national sur le radon de Santé Canada.

Continue reading Une approche interdisciplinaire axée sur la santé de la population pour analyser la gestion des risques du radon pour la santé au Canada

The Risk of Prostate Cancer from Occupational Exposures in Male Firefighters

Author: Zing-Wae WONG & James GOMES

Abstract

Prostate cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer among men. Since prostate cancer is a slow developing cancer, mortality can be prevented if the tumour is detected and treated in its early stages. There is proof that environmental exposures can increase the risk of prostate cancer. Many papers have performed data analyses on prostate cancer levels in firefighters. There has been some research on firefighter prostate cancer levels but few reviews on the topic. This paper focuses on finding whether there is a correlation between firefighting occupation and levels of prostate cancer. As well, this paper notes potential carcinogens within the firefighting occupation. Five papers were included in this review; these papers used different methods to obtain the cases and cohorts for the study. The papers also used different controls for comparison. Nevertheless, the papers found in the search supported a positive correlation between exposures in firefighting occupations and the level of prostate cancer. The two chemicals that were suspected carcinogens in these studies were Polyaromatic hydrocarbons (PAH) and fire smoke. However, future research can be more rigorous in calculations of prostate cancer levels by including lifestyle factors, other confounders such as smoking, and estimated length of exposure.

Continue reading The Risk of Prostate Cancer from Occupational Exposures in Male Firefighters

The Risk of Prostate Cancer from Occupational Exposures in Male Firefighters

Auteurs : Zing-Wae WONG & James GOMES
Article en anglais.

Résumé

Le cancer de la prostate est le cancer le plus fréquemment diagnostiqué chez les hommes. Étant donné qu’il se développe lentement, on peut prévenir la mortalité si on détecte et traite la tumeur alors qu’elle n’en est encore qu’à ses premiers stades de développement. On a démontré que des facteurs environnementaux pouvaient augmenter le risque de cancer de la prostate. Quelques recherches ont été effectuées sur les niveaux de cancer de la prostate chez les pompiers, mais peu d’articles ont été publiés à ce sujet. Cette étude vise à trouver une corrélation entre le métier de pompier et le niveau de cancer de la prostate. L’article indique des agents cancérigènes potentiels liés au métier de pompier. Cette étude analyse cinq articles ayant utilisé différentes méthodes d’obtention des cas et des cohortes étudiés, ainsi que diverses méthodes de comparaison. Néanmoins, les articles étudiés ont conclu à une corrélation positive entre le niveau d’exposition des pompiers dans le cadre de leur métier et le niveau de cancer de la prostate. Les produits chimiques suspectés d’être des agents cancérigènes par ces études sont les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques (HAP) et la fumée d’incendie. Cependant, les études ultérieures devront être plus rigoureuses dans le calcul des niveaux de cancer de la prostate, en tenant compte de facteurs liés au style de vie, et d’autres variables confondantes comme le tabac et la durée estimée de l’exposition.

Continue reading The Risk of Prostate Cancer from Occupational Exposures in Male Firefighters

Les risques associés à l’utilisation inappropriée des stéroïdes anabolisants

Authors: Marie-Claudel BORGEAT & James GOMES
Article in French only.

Résumé

Notre société accorde une grande importance à la beauté et à la performance physique. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’une fraction non négligeable de gens aient recours à des méthodes draconiennes pour atteindre ces objectifs, ou s’en rapprocher. Une des méthodes les plus populaires est l’utilisation abusive de stéroïdes anabolisants. Plusieurs études ont évalué les effets indésirables et néfastes de ces composés à des doses “supra-physiologiques”. Nous présentons donc ici une révision et une synthèse de ces effets afin de mieux comprendre la nocivité de ces stéroïdes anabolisants quand ils sont mal utilisés.

Continue reading Les risques associés à l’utilisation inappropriée des stéroïdes anabolisants

Les risques associés à l’utilisation inappropriée des stéroïdes anabolisants

Auteurs : Marie-Claudel BORGEAT & James GOMES

Résumé

Notre société accorde une grande importance à la beauté et à la performance physique. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’une fraction non négligeable de gens aient recours à des méthodes draconiennes pour atteindre ces objectifs, ou s’en rapprocher. Une des méthodes les plus populaires est l’utilisation abusive de stéroïdes anabolisants. Plusieurs études ont évalué les effets indésirables et néfastes de ces composés à des doses “supra-physiologiques”. Nous présentons donc ici une révision et une synthèse de ces effets afin de mieux comprendre la nocivité de ces stéroïdes anabolisants quand ils sont mal utilisés.

Continue reading Les risques associés à l’utilisation inappropriée des stéroïdes anabolisants