All posts by Helena Bleeker

The Ethics of Pre-Implantation Genetic Diagnosis in Practice: An Analysis of the Feasibility and Ethical Considerations of Applying and Regulating Genetic Enhancement

Author: Helena BLEEKER

Abstract

Pre-Implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) has many therapeutic and enhancement applications. In a previous work, I presented arguments in favour of all types of PGD, whether for medical therapies or human enhancement. These arguments were based on the absence of moral distinctions between genetic therapy and genetic enhancement.

The implication of these arguments is that, if one cannot distinguish between therapy and enhancement on moral grounds, then all PGD applications must be either moral or immoral. Although logically speaking this argument may be true, in practice I believe that it is possible and necessary to draw a line between what is morally permissible and what is not with respect to applications of PGD for genetic enhancement.

In order to draw this line, I move away from analyzing the moral substance of PGD as a technology and focus instead on the moral agents that will employ PGD. As humans, I believe we are both morally accountable and morally unreliable as agents for the use of PGD, and this feature forms the basis of the delineation of acceptable PGD practices.

Continue reading The Ethics of Pre-Implantation Genetic Diagnosis in Practice: An Analysis of the Feasibility and Ethical Considerations of Applying and Regulating Genetic Enhancement

The ethics of pre-implantation genetic diagnosis: An opinion piece examining the moral distinction between positive and negative selection of traits using PGD

Author: Helena BLEEKER

Abstract

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) follows in vitro fertilization (IVF) of several ova. Negative selection (NS), or the discarding of embryos containing undesirable alleles, is currently being performed in IVF clinics. Conversely, positive selection (PS) is the discarding of embryos that do not contain a desirable allele. In other words, PS keeps an embryo because it contains a desirable genetic profile.

There are many groups that support NS but there are far fewer who support PS. The bioconservative philosophy, led by philosophers such as Leon Kass, opposes PS and bioliberalism in general. Conversely, NS (and PS) of embryos resonates best of all with the bioliberalism philosophy. More specifically, a subset of bioliberalism, called transhumanism.

In order to find NS morally permissible and PS morally unacceptable, one must support one’s position by making a moral distinction between the two types of selection. The major claims against PS include that it is not medically serious, that it propagates eugenics, that it propagates sex selection and that it elicits a moral repugnance which proves its immorality. In analyzing these arguments, I hope to show that none of them are consistent in their application, and that their inability to be applied universally significantly weakens their case.

Continue reading The ethics of pre-implantation genetic diagnosis: An opinion piece examining the moral distinction between positive and negative selection of traits using PGD

Tous les articles par Helena Bleeker

Considérations éthiques relatives au diagnostic préimplantatoire dans la pratique : un examen de la faisabilité et des enjeux éthiques concernant la mise en application et la réglementation de l’amélioration génétique

Auteure : Helena BLEEKER
Article en anglais.

Résumé

Le diagnostic préimplantatoire (DPI) compte de nombreuses applications pour entreprendre une thérapie et pour augmenter le potentiel humain. Dans un article précédent, j’ai présenté des arguments en faveur de tous les types de DPI, qu’il s’agisse de traitements médicaux ou d’interventions pour augmenter le potentiel humain. Ces arguments étaient fondés sur l’absence de distinction morale entre la thérapie génique et l’amélioration génétique.

Par conséquent, si on ne peut établir de distinction entre la thérapeutique et l’amélioration génétique sur le plan moral, on ne pourra définir le caractère moral des applications du DPI qu’en fonction de leur processus et non de leur finalité. Bien que cet argument semble logiquement vrai, on croit qu’il est possible et nécessaire de faire une nette distinction, sur un plan pratique, entre ce qui est moralement admissible et ce qui ne l’est pas, dans le cadre des applications du DPI à des fins d’amélioration génétique.

Afin de bien faire cette distinction, cet article passe de l’analyse de la substance morale du DPI en tant que technologie à l’étude des agents moralement concernés employant le DPI. En tant qu’êtres humains, nous sommes probablement à la fois responsables et peu fiables sur le plan moral en tant que consommateurs du DPI : ce qui constitue la base de la délimitation de pratiques acceptables en matière du DPI.

Continuer la lecture de Considérations éthiques relatives au diagnostic préimplantatoire dans la pratique : un examen de la faisabilité et des enjeux éthiques concernant la mise en application et la réglementation de l’amélioration génétique

The ethics of pre-implantation genetic diagnosis: An opinion piece examining the moral distinction between positive and negative selection of traits using PGD

Auteure : Helena BLEEKER
Article en anglais

Résumé

Le diagnostic préimplantatoire (DPI) suit la fécondation in vitro (FIV) de plusieurs ovules. Dans ce cadre, la sélection négative (SN), ou le rejet d’embryons contenant des allèles indésirables, est actuellement une pratique courante dans les cliniques de FIV. La sélection positive (SP), quant à elle, est le rejet d’embryons  qui ne contiennent pas un allèle désirable – en d’autres termes, la SP conserve un embryon car il renferme un profil génétique souhaitable.

De nombreux groupes sont en faveur de la SN, mais il y a beaucoup moins de partisans de la SP. La philosophie bio-conservatrice, dirigée par des philosophes tels que Leon Kass, s’oppose à la SP et au bio-libéralisme en général. À l’inverse, la SN (et SP) d’embryons  résonne mieux avec la philosophie bio-libérale, plus précisément avec un sous-ensemble du bio-libéralisme appelé le « transhumanisme ».

Pour pouvoir considérer que la SN est moralement admissible et que la SP est moralement inacceptable, il faut soutenir sa position en faisant une distinction entre les deux types de sélection. Les réclamations majeures contre la SP comprennent le fait que ce n’est pas médicalement grave, qu’elle répand l’eugénisme, qu’elle propage la sélection du sexe et qu’elle suscite une aversion morale qui prouve son immoralité. Dans l’analyse de ces arguments, j’espère démontrer qu’aucun d’entre eux n’est cohérent dans leur application, et que leur incapacité à être appliqués de manière universelle mine leur propre cause.

Continuer la lecture de The ethics of pre-implantation genetic diagnosis: An opinion piece examining the moral distinction between positive and negative selection of traits using PGD